Language: Vietnamese Indonesian

The Department of Physics was established in 1968. In the initial stage, there were two research branches, Physics and Earth Science. The Earth Science branch became independent and the Department of Earth Science was founded in 1976. The master program of Physics and Astronomy was established in 1977. In 1992 the Astronomy branch became independent and the Graduate Institute of Astronomy was founded; the master program was renamed as the master program of Physics. The Ph.D. program of Physics and Astronomy was set up in 1986 and renamed as the Ph.D. program of Physics in 2001. In 2004 the Graduate Institute of Biophysics was established to strengthen teaching and research of biophysics and soft-condensed matter physics in the department.

Currently (2018) there are 16 full-time professors, 13 associated professors, and 3 assistant professors in the Department of Physics. In addition, there are 5 adjunct faculties with the Graduate Institute of Astronomy, Institute of Space Science, Department of Electrical Engineering, and Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, 6 adjunct faculties with Academia Sinica, and 1 adjunct assistant professor with the National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center. The faculty members are recognized for enthusiastic teaching and outstanding research and produce notable research achievements. Taking the year 2017 as an example, the faculty members had 101 publications in the SCI journals; they performed among the top of Taiwan. The total funds awarded by the National Science Council were NTD 60,000,000 in 2017. In addition, with the aids of the National Science Council, many experts and postdoctoral researchers are invited to participate in teaching and research. Our research programs include condensed matter physics (semiconductors, nanoparticles, magnetic thin films, high-temperature superconductors), high energy physics, gravity theory, plasma and fluid physics, atomic and molecular physics, laser physics, and high-field physics. Moreover, the research programs of biophysics, soft-condensed matter physics, and astrophysics are leaders in their fields among the universities in Taiwan. Currently there are 220 undergraduate students and 165 master and Ph.D. students in the department.

The Department of Physics, located at the Science Building IV (Floor 1-7), faces the Suan-Ou lake with a pleasant view. The facilities are first-class, including computers and internet, professional publications, experimental instruments, and study and discussion rooms for students. These well-equipped infrastructures are renewed yearly to promote better research and teaching.

Reach NCU: